Reflecting on 2011

Overall 2011 was a great year.  It felt more relaxed and enjoyable than any prior year in recent memory.  I think it had to do with the fact that we haven’t moved recently and that I have finally come to a point where I see myself as an adult.  It’s funny but all through my 20’s I was still under the impression that I was 20.

2011 was also a year filled with a lot of change, excitement and  learning.  I think I have taken care of myself more in 2011 than any other year.  I have exercised more, eaten better, and prioritized the important things.  It really hit me in May when I posted this that I hadn’t stopped to think about who I was and what I wanted to do.  Since then I have been much happier because I know my choices are intentional and purposeful.  I made a list of accomplishments that I wanted to achieve and this is a good time to review them.  Here is my list from May

  • To plan several fun days with my family (done)
  • To work less, not at work but working around the house (done)
  • To make my wife feel loved and special (done)
  • To continue exercising (done)
  • To sleep more (not even close)
  • To play for an hour straight with each kid (done)
  • Plan something in secret for my wife (done)
  • Make sure I treat everyone in my life in a calm loving and respectful way (still working on this)
  • Listen more and talk less (tried this then forgot about it)
  • Quit bragging (done)
  • Stay out of debt (almost there)

Overall I would say that I did pretty good at focusing my attention on these specific things.  It really made a difference in my overall happiness and it is something that I will continue to do.

Obsessions.  Throughout my life I have always been obsessed with something.  2011 was the year I was obsessed with minimalist shoes as is evident in this years blog posts.  I can’t start to describe how much better I feel now that my feet are strong.  This may sound weird to 99% of the population, but strong feet affect the rest of my body in ways I never would have imagined.  My wife an I agree, once you go minimalist you will never go back.

The last couple of months in 2011 were probably the most exciting for me personally.  I don’t have a lot of details to share but my wife and I started our own business based on her invention.  I will share much more on this later, but for me, this project has been so fulfilling both personally and professionally.  Leaving my well respected engineering career to get my masters in business always left me feeling like a sellout.  I was hopeful that one day both my engineering background with my expertise in business would merge together.  This is exactly what has happened with the formation of this company and I couldn’t be more excited for what is to come in 2012.

2012 is already a year full of excitement.  I have plans for a fun new Soft Star project along with a couple other highly anticipated long term minimalist shoe reviews.  I will be running the Tough Mudder in February using my Soft Star Dash.  Finally, the adventures in our business that have yet to unfold are sure to be both exciting and memorable.  2011 was a great year but I have a feeling 2012 will be even better.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Reflecting on 2011

  1. I have often had that same feeling that I am still 20. I tend to identify my age with whatever group of people I am with. I turn 30 soon but I still feel like I’m in my 20’s. Part of it might be that technically, I’m still in school getting a 2nd degree.

    I also feel like a sell out sometimes since I left my career as a graphic designer and started a business, but I’ve realized that life is too short to look back. If you have a dream, chase it! Right now I feel like I am doing what I’m supposed to be doing (if that makes any sense). That is much more fulfilling than my career was before I made the dive into Unshoes. I couldn’t have done it without a supportive wife.

Leave a comment