Thinking?!

Do you ever sit and just think?

When I was a kid growing up on Lake Superior I would sit on a cliff overlooking the lake for hours.  I would just sit and think about life.  I thought about what kind of person that I wanted to be.  Largely, that time spent overlooking the lake molded me into who I am today.

When we had kids, my wife and I spent hours discussion how we wanted to raise our kids and how we wanted to balance work and play.  Recently I have noticed that I have been letting life just happen to me without really thinking about it.

I feel like I have arrived at the place that I intended to go and now that I’m here I have to figure what or where I’m going.  Then I realized that I hadn’t stopped and just thought through things like I used to.  I was just living life and handling each day as it came.  This may sound freeing and relaxed but it brings you to a place that you may not have intended.  I realized that I need to sit and think about priorities because otherwise things will get prioritized for me and the things that are truly important will not get time.

So what do I want to accomplish in the 2nd half of 2011?

  • To plan several fun days with my family
  • To work less, not at work but working around the house
  • To make my wife feel loved and special
  • To continue exercising
  • To sleep more
  • To play for an hour straight with each kid
  • Plan something in secret for my wife
  • Make sure I treat everyone in my life in a calm loving and respectful way
  • Listen more and talk less
  • Quit bragging
  • Stay out of debt
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

